THAT BUSINESS OF MEANING
THAT BUSINESS OF MEANING Podcast
Veronique Greenwood on Science & Wonder
0:00
-56:00

Veronique Greenwood on Science & Wonder

A THAT BUSINESS OF MEANING Interview
Transcript

No transcript...

Veronique Greenwood is a writer and essayist whose work has appeared in The New York Times Magazine, National Geographic, Pacific Standard, Aeon, Popular Science, Scientific American, and many others.

I kept running into her work as I gathered pieces for my weekly newsletter, so created a Google alert for her. So, when I decided to have these conversations, I knew I wanted to get her take.

One of the things I want to talk about is wonder - and this is something she knows well, and incorporates into her work.

I hope you enjoy!

A selection of my favorite of her pieces:

How Trust Shapes Nations' Safety Rules in The Atlantic How does a country decide what risks are acceptable in everyday life? This is a must-read, and keep.

The Vodka-Red-Bull Placebo Effect in The Atlantic People take more risks when downing caffeine-and-alcohol cocktails—but only if they know what they’re drinking. Beautiful proof of the power of brand.

My Grandfather Thought He Solved a Cosmic Mystery in The Atlantic His career as an eminent physicist was derailed by an obsession. Was he a genius or a crackpot? A really beautiful story.

.

0 Comments
THAT BUSINESS OF MEANING
THAT BUSINESS OF MEANING Podcast
A monthly conversation between Peter Spear and fascinating people working in and with THAT BUSINESS OF MEANING